Home / Announcements / Winners of the ISSA Hygieia Network 2016 Awards are announced

Winners of the ISSA Hygieia Network 2016 Awards are announced

The ISSA Hygieia Network (IHN) announced the winners of its 2016 ISSA Hygieia Network Awards during its second annual ISSA Hygieia Network Awards Ceremony, held at the Hyatt Regency McCormick Place Hotel in Chicago, on Wednesday, October 26, during ISSA/INTERCLEAN North America 2016.

Recognising the outstanding contribution she has made to the advancement and retention of women within the cleaning industry, the IHN presented Janelle Bruland with its Member of the Year Award.

Bruland is president and CEO of Management Services Northwest, a regional facility management company in Bellingham, WA, offering services from janitorial to complete facility management.

The Eidyia Award, which recognises companies or individuals leading efforts to reduce illiteracy rates within the cleaning industry’s workforce, was presented to the Asian-American Hotel Owners Association (AAHOA). Founded in 1989, AAHOA is dedicated to promoting and protecting the interests of its members through programs and initiatives in advocacy, industry leadership, professional development, and community involvement.

The Rising Star of the Year Award, which is open to women aged 35 and under who have demonstrated their commitment to further the ideals and objectives of the ISSA Hygieia Network, was awarded to Paige Horn, chief operating officer from Dixie Paper Co. and Dixie Packaging, Tyler, TX.

While all categories had a record number of nominees, the Man of the Year Award category was especially popular, with Michel Landel, CEO of Sodexo from Paris, France, named as the final winner of that award for his excellent commitment and support for gender diversity and inclusion in the cleaning industry.

It was a great night for Sodexo, which was also named Employer of the Year, chosen to be the company that best promotes women’s interests and gender equality in the professional cleaning sector.

At the ceremony, special awards were also given to the following individuals or organisations in recognition of their outstanding work in promoting the mission of IHN:

  • Jeff Roberts, Waxie Sanitary Supply
  • Laurie Sewell, Servicon Systems, Inc.
  • GOJO

The judging panel for the awards included Dan Weltin, editor-in-chief, Trade Press Media Group; Jeff Tafel, executive director, IFMA Foundation; and Michelle Marshall, editor, European Cleaning Journal and EC Television executive producer.

Speaking about the awards, Ilham Kadri, IHN chair and president of Sealed Air’s Diversey Care division, said:

“The ISSA Hygieia Network Awards truly represent the very best work being undertaken currently in eliminating gender discrimination and encouraging diversity. Over the next year, we will build further on the excellent work that the network is already doing with exciting additions to the program, such as mentorship, regular webinars, and other education opportunities.”

About Sarah OBeirne

Leave a Reply